True Colors Tour: Carson and Rosie and Cyndi oh my!

True Colors Tour Cyndi Lauper created a tour called True Colors to raise awareness about GLBT equality.  The Seattle stop featured Carson Kressley of Queer Eye as the MC, Nona Hendrix (at 6pm? Who was there?), Joan Armatrading (blast from the past!), Rosie O’Donnell, The B-52’s (woohoo!), and of course Cyndi Lauper.  Performers that did other cities that I wish I’d seen included Joan Jett, the Indigo Girls, Wanda Sykes, Margaret Cho, and a bunch of young bands I’ve never heard of that I should probably look up.  I feel old.

Safeco Alley I rode over to the WaMu Theater on my motorcycle – there was a Mariners game and there were people everywhere.  I ate a hot dog in the bustling alley next to the baseball stadium amongst the noisy vendors, fans and cops and then moseyed across the street to the show.

Carson Kressley I love Carson Kressley, who MCed. He has this great new show called “How to Look Good Naked” that I really love and blogged about last month. He was very funny and apparently made the straight people surrounding us audibly uncomfortable.  Hey, it’s about time you had to suffer through a few breeder jokes!  Welcome to our world.

The show was sponsored by PFLAG, the HRC, and local organizations including Gay City Health Project and there were little promos for them throughout the show but they weren’t obnoxious.  I got a PFLAG magnet. 🙂

Joan Armatrading album coverJoan Armatrading was pretty cool to see – I wore out my cassette tape of “Whatever’s For Us” in college.  She played some newer songs that were a little boring but it was great to hear her play “Me Myself” and of course “Love and Affection”.

Rosie O’Donnell was her usual toxic self.  She talked about how she was just voted the most annoying celebrity – even over Ann Coulter which is some stiff competition.  I hate that she represents lesbians to many people.  I didn’t elect her!  If I could elect anyone it would be Ellen and Portia.  Just so you know.

B-52's at the True Colors tour The B-52’s were awesome.  I had one of those moments where I connected with the me at 16 that was driving around in my Toyota Corolla blasting “Livin’ in your own Private Idaho” – it was very cool.  Apparently they have a new album that’s really good.

And Cyndi Lauper was worth waiting for – she has some serious pipes.  Damn.  Rosie played drums like Shiela E. (or at least tried) on “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” and everyone did a big sing-along to “True Colors” which was touching.

Cyndi on the Today Show promoting True ColorsAll in all it was a fun evening. 

Recommended. See this when it stops in your town.

And good for Cyndi. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

