Concert Review: Velvet Revolver and Hoobastank in Seattle/Everett

I think I just saw the best concert I’ve ever seen in my life.  I honestly can’t think of a better concert – SB and I were racking our brains on the way home trying to think of one that could top it and the only thing that comes close for me is Stone Temple Pilots and the Red Hot Chili Peppers a few years ago and STP were way better than RHCP.  Toward the end of STP, popcorn rained from the ceiling like snow and Scott dove onto the floor and writhed around like a snake on acid.  It took them almost an hour to get the buttery mess off the stage so RHCP could go on.

But that was then and this is now.  Hoobastank was awesome – I really love their latest album and they did not disappoint.  They are very energetic performers, bouncing all around the stage and just rocking out.  I love their singer and their song "Crawling in the Dark" is one of the best pop songs of the decade.

But when Velvet Revolver came out – well, they were just in another league.  They are legends and absolutely played the part.  Just considering the history of GnR alone is enough to blow my mind as I watched Slash and Duff strut around the stage.  And Scott is a much more appealing Axl – he has more creativity and less ego.  They played most if not all of the songs from the VR CD which was awesome, but the greatest moment of the show was about halfway through when they answered the question that I’m sure everyone was wondering – Will they play GnR and STP?  Yes, they busted out "It’s so Easy" from one of the greatest albums of all time, "Appetite for Destruction".  That was just so awesome – I can’t tell you what an amazing feeling it is to see a band play a song that I loved in my youth.  I feel the same way when I see the Go-go’s, Cheap Trick, Bow Wow Wow – realizing I could not have imagined back then how awesome my life turned out is quite a cool mind trick.

So they played "It’s so Easy", STP’s "Sex Type Thing", "I Used to Love Her" (a fun sing-a-long), and (of course) "Mr. Brownstone", one of my favorite songs of all time.  It was awesome.  As they said, it was just a rocknfuckinroll show, and I think it was the best rocknfuckinroll show I’ve ever seen.

The thing I pray for the most is that we have an opportunity to see Scott and VR again.  I wish for his long life, which I know many people (including myself) are skeptical of seeing.  Please please please be careful, Scott and don’t let drugs rob the world of your talent.

2 thoughts on “Concert Review: Velvet Revolver and Hoobastank in Seattle/Everett

  1. Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, mp4 advertisement players, SD card players and advertisement LCD displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[eccgddfhcbjaab]

Leave a Reply

